Military Aviation > Military Aircraft

What Does the USAF Do Now?

<< < (2/3) > >>

Raptor:
Don't mean to go off topic, but i noticed the F-15SE mentioned. You can actually see the engine blades on that one. How stealthy is that to the F-22.  :-\

AVIATOR:
Why would it be off topic and why would that matter anyway. Getting anyone to join in discussion here at any time is a minor miracle.
I'm no expert and I'm still back in either the 1940s with military planes or today with civil aviation, but when they say that they could upgrade an F-15, doesn't it really mean that they would use the same moulds and replace the outer shell metal body panels with some sort of stealth fibre?

Raptor:
Basically something like that, but 'stealth' per se relies greatly on low RCS, which is generally achieved using RAM, deflective surfaces, or in the case of the Russians, the more effective plasma stealth. I would imagine that the engine blades would provide quite a massive RCS for an enemy's radar to work on...

Webmaster:
What's your point Kukuruza... seems your posts aren't making a lot of sense... ? confirmed spammer, deleted