MILAVIA Forum - Military Aviation Discussion Forum

Author Topic: Microfilm passing Atlantic WWII  (Read 8599 times)

Offline KESTL

• Recruit
Microfilm passing Atlantic WWII
« on: May 18, 2020, 03:14:56 PM »
Hello everyone.

For some time I have been deep in research surrounding the circumstances of a flight, or rather a series of flights, that happened  in 1942. I’m writing this post as I have not been able to come up with a reliable answer to (1) which aircraft were used and (2) on which dates the flights occurred.

My interest in aviation in general started not so long ago, when I saw a video displaying the wonders of the new Microsoft Flight Simulator “game”. It looks absolutely magnificent and their continuing efforts on describing all the mechanics that go into it, keep delivering for a promising true to life experience. I CAN’T WAIT.

I am a classical musician by profession, and I have always been fascinated with the story of how Shostakovich’s 7th symphony made the trip from war torn Russia to United States, for a premiere to be played in New York 4 months after the world premiere. In the last few weeks I have tried to find more information on the specifics of these flights through the book: “Symphony for the city of the dead”, by M.T. Anderson, and the paper: “Flight of the seventh”, also by M.T. Anderson. I have come up with the following (if anyone decides to find leads by themselves or know more please correct me at any step of the way):
Kuybyshev, Russia (present day Samara, Russia)- Tehran, Iran (by plane)
Tehran, Iran - Cairo, Egypt (hired courier by car)
Cairo, Egypt (Payne Airfield) - either Casablanca then Accra or direct to Accra (by plane)
Accra - Recife, Brazil (Ibura airfield) (by plane)
Recife, Brazil - Florida (most likely Miami) (by plane, U.S. Navy)
Florida - Washington DC (by plane)