MILAVIA Forum - Military Aviation Discussion Forum

Author Topic: Sukhoi T-50  (Read 11108 times)

Offline F-111 C/C

• Hero of Flight
Sukhoi T-50
« on: January 05, 2009, 07:07:16 PM »
I'm suprised I have not seen much info here on the Sukhoi PAK FA 5th generation fighter (maybe I didn't dig deep enough?). Sounds pretty awesome but, as with most of their new concepts, most of the design and technology seems a little too coincidental in it's likeness to the F-22 (Do they steal everything? - Sorry, I'm a veteran of the Cold War).
Anyway, I'm curious on people's opinions.
Wars are won by carrying the 'heavy iron' downtown!

Offline tigershark

• News Editor
  • General of Flight
Re: Sukhoi T-50
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2009, 11:19:20 PM »
Hi F-111 C/C
I get Russians aviation fans displeased with on this topic because there's not a single thing you could dig your teeth in on this.  The only thing I could find is "some systems for the 5th generation have been tested" not the aircraft itself.  There's nothing and I get tired of hearing its coming in 2009, 2010, etc, but what's coming out?  It's taking forever just to produce and get into real production the Su-35 which is basically an upgraded Flanker.  I suffer from a little cold war times as well to be honest but you can Google this until your fingers are bleeding but you'll never find anything useful.  It makes me crazy the way some people talk of the jet like its real it blows my mind.  Russia just catching up to the sub systems that they couldn't produce in the MKI Flankers and now they just jump into 5th generation just like that.  Isn't the F-22 something like a 15 or 16 year program costing billions of dollars of R&D money?  Plus lessons learn the SR-71 and F-117 programs all rolled into one?     

How do you go from a Flanker basically a late 3rd or 4th generation aircraft to 5th like that and say early models will be produced by 2010?
« Last Edit: January 11, 2009, 12:03:56 AM by tigershark »